Right then, as I spend some time looking outside the flight window into the darkness, I will pin down my thoughts about the last 2 days in San Diego in this blog post. For the third time, I am starting with my own blog. Ended up deactivating the last two blogs, hopefully 3rd time lucky!

 

So the occasion, Ignite Event for Microsoft Office 365, my future team, who felt it would be a good idea for me to attend and learn from the seminar. Move the clock into 6 hours of training and healthy interactions, I know a  whole lot more about the product than I did before the event. And need I say, I did the dogfooding for O365. So much for the dogfood. I flew in on Wednesday evening, to make sure I will be available for a few night calls, and still have enough time to catch the sunset and capture some nice shots with stars , which I hardly get to see amidst the cloudy Seattle skies.

 

Flight itself was pretty relaxed,  and en-route , we got a couple of nice views of the cascade mountains. I regretted not having my camera handy when the pilot decided to go close to mount rainier. The sourness of not having a camera handy was doubled when I saw absolutely clear views of Mount St Helens and Mount Hood in another 20 mins from the flight door. Good flight overall though and I was welcomed  by the nice sunny San Diego Sun. I grabbed a rental car at airport( ahoy Microsoft travel policy) and drove back to my hotel.

 

After meeting with my new colleagues and some customers and a nice get together with some partners, it was time to grab my camera and get out shooting the city lights. I met an old friend from my undergrad for dinner and he pointed me to some nice places to shoot nearby.

 

And the first location was the Pacific beach. A typical California beach, warm, sunny, and with nice clear waves. I was there at just about dawn and in nick of time to get a sunset shot , as seen below.

 Image

I took a couple of shots here and then walked on the beach with my friend. 5 minutes into the walk, I noticed a very surreal looking beach houses , standing only on the wooden logs. You could actually go under the wood logs. And when I looked up towards the sky, a saw a few starts. A potential photo came to my mind, (luckily too, I love this shot!)  and I set my tripod on for a long exposure. Probably my favorite shot from the trip.

 Image

Moving on, it’s about 11 PM now, and the heavy dinner accompanied by fast moving clouds overshadowing the stars mean I need to get to my next spot really soon before I miss the star trail possibility again. So I quickly drove (read over speeded) to get to Mt Soledad to a disappointing view of clouds all over the city. “Damn”, I said to myself. Unlucky again. (Have been chasing the stars for a while you see) .  Anyhow, I took my 3rd shot for the day of the famous cross and relaxed looking over the city and the pacific ocean and had regular chat with my friend.

Image

 

Right, its 1 AM now , and I have a presentation due in the morning 8 AM meeting, but I haven’t got a shot of the San Diego Skyline. How can my trip be complete without it? So I said goodbye to my friend and drove another 20 miles to get to other side of island near the Coronado beach into a public park. Its pin drop silence , with no other human visible. I quietly parked my car (only one in the lot as you would imagine) and walk towards the pathway which Is adjacent to the sound. A couple of shots of the bridge to start with which was rather pretty than I thought .

Image

 

And as for the final picture, hate to be in this position, but I had to stretch my knee (still recovering from my Ski accident) , I carefully went down the small rocky cliff to the base level and set my tripod. Did get my much needed frame but ended up making a mess of my shoes, which was all muddy after my little adventure.  

 Image

Right, 1:30 AM in the night now, eventful day, started at 8 AM, hasn’t ended yet. I still have to drive another 25 miles to get back to hotel, get a quick shower and get to bed. But I am glad to have taken some really interesting shots of the city. My first visit to city, with many more planned, hopefully the cloud gods don’t show up next time to ruin what would have been a perfect photography trip!

