It was supposed to be a reunion trip, ended up being a lot more. It is amazing to relive the good past memories with your old buddies.  Right then, back to my travel/photography review.  First time in Chicago,  I had planned a couple of shots in my mind. Here is a summary of the some of shots and how I ended up taking them. I decided to blog only about the cityscape and people in this edition. I will blog about the towers/skylines pictures in another one. 

 

As we moved into the city, there were some really nice locations, from where one could get some very neat cityscape. I decided to take a few long exposure shots with the city in the backdrop. The giant Chicago bean is symbolic of the Gotham city and I wanted to take a shot with a lot of people moving around , but unfortunately there were very few people, so didn’t get the entire effect in the picture.

Image 

 

 I moved on to some street shots , randomly looking at different objects and taking pics . One of them happened to be this huge bus with trails, which gives a time travel perspective.

Image 

 

Once I got the bus shot, I started walking down the street and saw a metro station nearby. Idea of another long exposure metro shot hit me and I quickly went to the station to take this next click. I had received feedback for only coloring the streaks and keep the rest of image in B&W on some photography forums, so I played around to get that effect, as can be seen in the pic.

 

Image

 

On the second day, when my friends had left the city, I was alone looking for some more shots, and I was joined by another fellow photographer , who was taking time lapse videos of the sunset and Chicago river. It was quite a sharp background, so I set myself up for another city landscape, and fast moving clouds meant the need of lower shutter speed than usual for such shots. I was pretty happy with what I got in the shot except for the harsh lightning form the street lights. Pretty sharp image though.

 Image

 

While I was taking the previous pic, I couldn’t help but notice a local drummer hitting the beats in the middle of the road. He was actually pretty good, hitting some of Michal Jackson and oldies hits. I grabbed a few coins form my wallet and asked him to play with regular rhythm. When he started again, I was ready for the next shot and the outcome can be seen below.

 

Image

 

So, a fun filled trip with Chicago with some good shots of the city and people. But this trip wouldn’t have been as awesome without my buddies who made it very special. So a pic of us in the Adler planetarium with Chicago downtown in background to wrap this blog post and for me to get back to work. 

 Image

