As I recount my stay in Chicago, I must admit that I was in awe of its tall structures and the views they provide. One could see 4 US states and up to 50 miles in all directions on a clear day!! No wonder, the locals complain about the windy/cloudy weather. I visited two of the most popular towers in Chicago. The first one was Sears tower, now called Willis tower, supposed to be tallest building in USA at one point of time. As tall and high this 103 story building may sound, it took the lift about 45 seconds to get to the top. Compare that the one in office with a 5 second duration for climbing 2 stories, enough said.  Once at the top, you get very clear views of the city and lake Michigan. We were lucky that it wasn’t cloudy and in fact there was good sunshine .

 

The first shot at the top was a pretty basic shot that I had planned for. Sort of a mandatory shot. I just had to take it  now didn’t i?

 Image

 

After I had taken a couple of photos of me and friends, I decided to go on the side to take another shot of my friend from the side of the Sky deck. Pic came out pretty well, but few lesser people in the frame would have been better.

 Image

The next tower in the list was the John Hancock Observatory. We decided to do this in the night, to get some evening shots  of the city. I had anticipated this below shot of the North Chicago before I stepped into the building, and I glad it came out well.  Apparently, 500px has this rated as my best shot till date in terms of user review. Picture perfect this one, absolutely spot on!

 Image

 

While I was taking the North Chicago shots, my friends went over on the other side and started doing casual chat. I joined them a little later and saw another downtown view , which was looking really pretty in the evening sunlight. And out came the camera again to take this shot of the downtown with Lake Michigan on the extreme left. Tallest building in the frame is the Sears tower discussed above.

Image

 

So loads of shots from aerial viewpoints. I must say after having visited many towers all over the world , Chicago towers left a great impression on me in terms of their size, views and most importantly, of a city that has made  this little chap a huge Batman fan 🙂

 

